Curriculum overview and frameworks…

Middle Years (Years 8-10)

The curriculum for Roma Mitchell Secondary College is based on two key curriculum frameworks.

They are:

  • The Australian Curriculum
  • The International Baccalaureate Middle Years Programme (IBMYP)

Transition to High School through Middle Schooling

To support year 8 and 9 students to be successful and happy in their transition to High School we have a middle school structure that minimises the number of teachers students have in their first two years. The students’ Home Class teacher will also teach them for at least two other subjects. This facilitates more effective communication between teachers and families and establishes strong relationships to support learning.

RMSC is authorised to offer the International Baccalaureate (IB MYP) for all Years 8-10 students in our Girls’ Education and Co-educational campuses.

This is a rigorous academic curriculum framework being used in a growing number of public and private schools across Australia and internationally. Our teaching and learning programs are developed with reference to the IB MYP and the Australian curriculum materials.

Students are also given every opportunity to pursue their passions and talents through our extra programs:

Senior Years (Years 10-12)

Students in the Senior School (Years 11-12) study the South Australian Certificate of Education (SACE).

Some students may also choose to study nationally recognised certificates in Vocational Education and Training (VET) at the same time as they complete their SACE.

Click Roma Mitchell Secondary College Curriculum Handbook 2019 for more detail.